Skip to content

Reports

May 17, 2023

My schoolboy preference for sun and speedos over set works and studying was clearly illustrated by both a year-round tan and my school reports. Teachers called me lazy; I preferred laid back, but that cut no ice whatsoever at 4 Ridgelee Way, Avondale, Salisbury, Rhodesia, and every time a school report arrived, I made myself as scarce as post-sanctions 2-ply bog-roll. There were many holes in my academic prowess, but none wider than my achievements at maths. It’s not that I didn’t try at maths – I didn’t try at anything – but you can’t bullshit in arithmetic, so I had akwana back-up plan.

Look my boy. You just cannot simply rely on English to get you through school. How do you get 86% for English and 23% for maths? Dunno Ma, sorry hey, I just don’t get maths one bit.  Extra lessons decreed June. Extra maths lessons for you Steven, and that my boy is bloody that.

Once a week, off I went to a variety of slightly damp, elderly retired men and women who mostly lived in The Avenues, in very small sunless flats redolent of Colcom meats, over-cooked cabbage and naphthalene. The men, somewhat effeminate, sharpened their pencils with small pocketknives, always wore ties; the women, slightly masculine, wore stockings even in October and kept potted African Violets dotted about gloomy kitchen windowsills. They’d hopefully ask questions like “In a right-angled triangle, the square of the hypotenuse side is equal to?” and I’d truthfully answer “Huh? They did a lot of explaining, I did a lot of shrugging, and our combined efforts made sweet fokol difference to my school reports.

Unfailingly, an alternating procession of disappointed grey flannel trouser and crimplene day dress made its way to June’s Toyota Crown, parked waiting in the shade of a jacaranda tree, to mutter about being unable to help the boy, the phrase ‘a seeming unwillingness to learn’ used more than once.

Long, silent drives home hey. Looooong fukken drives.

Considering the overwhelming success of this extra-curricular activity, imagine my dismay when I was told that I was off to Hebrew lessons.

Hebrew Ma! Are you mental? Who even speaks Hebrew these days man? That is not the point Steven, and this is not a debate. And do not use that word again. Hebrew ma? No Steven, mental. It is an ugly word. Ja ma, sorry ma but ma – you and dad don’t speak Hebrew, so why should I? Come off it man Ma. I’d rather go back to maths, strue’sbob.

My pleas fell on deaf ears, and it was Hebrew classes there by the Sephardi Synagogue, one sunny afternoon after the other wasted in a stuffy classroom instead of swimming or chasing glossy little brown house snakes around in the vlei. Not only did my Hebrew skills make me appear to be a mathematician of Einstein-like capability; the class was filled with serious little goody-goodies, mostly ex-Sharon School, who had decided that yet another A at O levels would be a good thing.

Hebrew also meant another report on my academic prowess: 14% Steven? How do you get 14% for a whole term’s work? How Steven? It’s the dots ma hey. I just don’t get the dots and the plus or minus signs under letters, and then is it a boy or a girl and are there one or two of them… it’s yugely complicated Ma. Worse than maths hey, onetime.

One day the Hebrew teacher discovered that I’d written “Forwards Rhodesia Backwards Hebrew” on the cover of my textbook. Arguments of patriotic fervour and a sudden new-found love for Uncle Ian held no water and they – a person of such little interest to me that their name and gender are details lost in the mists of time and the smoke of dagga – made the same journey out to June’s car with the same “unteachable” message. We didn’t talk much on the way home, and we never talked about Hebrew again either, me, June, or the Old Man.

Sometimes, even I knew when it was better to keep my big mouth shut.

From → Lots of kak

43 Comments
  1. Brilliant !!!%%!!

    Sent from my iPhone

    <

    div dir=”ltr”>

    <

    blockquote type=”cite”>

  2. todah raba chaver

  3. Michael Birbeck permalink

    I am sitting here wiping the tears of laughter from my eyes here in the UK this morning. Brilliant stuff, please keep up the great writing! Speaking as one who was packed off to “extra” maths lessons, albeit in Cape Town, I can still feel your pain as much as I can now understand your poor mother’s! Thanks for starting my day off so well,

  4. very nice of you to say.

  5. Patricia Reeves permalink

    Love it! Mirrors my efforts in the Latin class…never got more than 20%.

  6. fucking latin hey

    • Patricia permalink

      did you know William Swart at Blakiston school? Born 1943. He went to PE afterwards . At high school he was friends with Hershel.

    • Maybe. It’s lank years ago hey? I kind of remember 2 people these days.

  7. Kirsten permalink

    Loved this. I can see and hear June so vividly she she might as well be right in front of me.

  8. Joel permalink

    14% would have been good grades for my O level Latin, History and English Literature.
    Each of which I thought I’d done ok only to get the lowest clarification. Like writevyour name on the paper and walk out, low. The dreaded U for unclassfiable! Now that’s the way to do it.

    Brilliantly written as always.

    Keep it up.
    Hopefully one day we’ll get to throw a line together.

    • managed a U for geography because the teacher bragged that no boy he’d ever taught had failed… one must have goals! tight lines big fella.

  9. Amanda Chalk permalink

    Thank you so much…..your writing makes me smile, …
    A) because I loved living in Rhodesia in my youth and
    B) as a retired teacher!
    You manage to hit the nail on the head every time!!!!

  10. Richard Schwartz permalink

    Did you ever go to Mr Jacobs

  11. What I should have done was gone directly to Kladidis.

  12. Wayne Ingram permalink

    Too funny Abo 😎 You may think me crazy but I voluntarily took Latin lessons with Slobber Thompson in Form 3 and managed a pass at O Level in that year. I guess his crazy humour resonated with me and I really did enjoy languages. Hebrew no doubt would have been a different ball game, right to left, dots etc
    Please keep the humour flowing – always brightens up our days!

    • Pete Young permalink

      Slobber belted Bruce Robbins full in the face while we were doing a Latin exam, Slobber said”what are you eating? ” “A niggerball” says Robins, Slobber calls him to the front ad Wham down goes Robbins blood gushing from his head Slobber picks him up and legs it out the door only to reappear two seconds later to warn us to finish the exam and not use our books everyone was stunned, when we heard his car start out came the books – it was the only Latin exam I ever passed.
      Nothing happened to Slobber we were all terrified of him, a bully of note

  13. Wayno – that motherfucker Thompson stuck half a squash ball on my forehead and gave me a murra lovebite. June went to PEfukkenS and chooned him onetime. Always good to hear from you shamwari.

  14. Diane Dean permalink

    Man oh man that was tricky. Hebrew….flipping hilarious. Why did parents do that? My Dad enrolled me in tennis academies, extra swimming training or church camps etc in the holidays. Never ever was I asked or discussed in any holiday filling activity. I hated them all. We needed the holidays to go and explore the vleis, the bull frogs, watch the okes catching flying ants and mapani worms. So much living to do. Why waste our time and their money on all this extra curricular activities? Flipping heck!!
    I love your stories. Keep them coming.
    Love Diane.

  15. Wendy permalink

    Your writing is exceptionally “on the money” and hugely entertaining! Fantastic to have you back doing, what I bet you do best! For those of us from the era, we are grateful that you lighten the day each time we receive one of your anecdotes. June and my mum sound like peas in a pod! 🙂

  16. Clare Postma permalink

    Your stories tickle me pink – keep ‘em coming and don’t EVER stop!

  17. Dingo permalink

    Do you remember that bumper sticker “You’re behind me and I’m behind the Rhodesia Front ..”. I think we both failed O Level Maths, Latin and Physics.

    • don’t drive Rhodesia dry! I passed everything except Geog. Because I cheated and you dirrint.

  18. mervyn herscovitz permalink

    Shit I missed you Lekker to see you back

  19. Lesley Mallows permalink

    I’m glad to be receiving these again.

    I hope you are well.

    Best wishes 

    <

    div dir=”ltr”>Lesley (born

  20. Amanda Trembath permalink

    Extra lessons…… I had a few of those myself. Definitely the same teachers in the Avenues.

  21. Michael Birbeck permalink

    Ag you Rhodies, you are breekers and heart breakers, but ultimately good ouens (and esses) too! Strue’sbob , my sister married one of you, and I am not talking kak! But we have forgiven her. I must say that this Abramowitz ou, gooi goed dit taal (even if it is not Hebrew) ! Lekker bly almal, wherever we are! – Mike

  22. we are the world’s finest. chete.

  23. Chris Clark permalink

    I got satisfactory grades at high school in Dunedin. My art teacher always called me “Satan” for some reason.

  24. Carla permalink

    These are so damn funny and wonderful Inevitably leading to a huge bout of nostalgia. Thank you!

  25. Chris Clark permalink

    From my old school, a 1971 class photo:

    https://web.archive.org/web/20160119211342/http://www.oldfriends.co.nz/InstitutionPhotoView.aspx?id

    Do you know who the teacher resembled?

  26. Chris Clark permalink

    Sorry the photo failed to load, but the teacher looked like Ian Smith

  27. just as well it failed to load hey. merry everything.

Leave a comment