Skip to content

Flicks

May 3, 2023

As fondly as we remember our little, red-soiled teapot-shaped piece of Africa, and as much as I’m constantly telling maningi lies and even some bits of truth about growing up there back in nineteen voetsek, there wasn’t really that much for a whenwe in his teens to do.

Thing is, aside from bundu-bashing, trying not to get bashed at Club Tomorrow or any other RLI on R&R hotspots, watching PEfukkenS play rugger, smoking weed with Willard in the garden at 4 Ridgelee Way, Avondale, Salisbury, Rhodesia, grazing ‘tong and drinking Bengal Juice, going to Guido’s for clear soup and T-bone, Barbours for toasted chicken sandwich, High Chaps for hot chocolate, trying to fray tabs with GHS gwarras, making assorted kak with Shamwari #1, hanging out at various swimming pools where girls in bikinis also hung out, playing pinnack and table soccer there by Uncle Teddy’s Rhodes Motors, fucking about on Lake Mac, queueing for petrol and dodging June, boredom was such a constant companion it may as well have worn RichRags, a Merrisex t-shirt and had the same heady scent of Ego and Kingsgate as we did. Strue’sbob.

The flicks, which is what we trendy okes called it – madalas used words like bioscope, and also the wireless – was the one place you could always go to find entertainment. While Rhadeejah had the highest ratio of bisocopes per (very select few) members of population ever known to mankind, your Seven Arts, Rainbow, et cetera (and that was just Bamba Zonke) it also possibly – thanks to naughty Uncle Ian and his live-in lover Cliffy du Pont – had the lowest ratio of films to bioscopes. Thanks to sanctions, as a piccanin I saw The Horse in The Grey Flannel Suit so many times I got fukken saddle sores.

Christ Steven, can you not sit still for ten minutes? Ants in your pants my boy, that’s your problem. Sorry Ma – I’m bored hey. You’re what Steven? Bored? You’re much too young to get bored my boy. Ja Ma, sorry Ma. Can I get some money for the flicks Ma? And can I get some money also for something to eat in the interval? Do you think I am made of money Steven? Hey? Do you think I just go outside and pick money up off the ground every morning? Use your pocket money to buy something in the interval. But you don’t give me pocket money Ma. Do not get bloody cheeky with me my boy. Do.I.Make.Myself.Clear?

My prolonged love affairs with The Rocky Horror Picture Show and JC Superstar are described elsewhere in other kak I’ve written here.  Jawitz – who always loved the flicks and is now running Hollywood from Cape Town – and I went to see The Sailor Who Fell from Grace with The Sea and both developed not so mild Kris Kristofferson crushes. Shamwari #1 and I went to see Tommy, and I learned that going to a flick with music with your best mate who is tone-deaf and insists on singing along is very amusing, but not for the other buggers at the flicks. I saw The Exorcist, stoned, and it took me months to recover; same for Jaws. The Sting. The Poseidon Adventure, Earthquake, Marathon Man, Kelly’s Heroes, A Bridge Too Far, Clint Eastwood, 007, anything Monty Python made. Flick after flick, always good fun.

Also there by Blakiston they sometimes showed a flick on a Saturday evening. Maybe Friday. Who knows? Someone, but not me. See previous notes on getting old and dagga. Those old flicks on a reel-to-reel projector that jammed and whined and whirred and never worked properly but still, a flick hey. Once, sitting upstairs in the balcony which is where us older kids sat, Mandy Burgess, one of the really main gwarras there by Blakiston, decided halfway through the first reel that she would hold my salty-with-chipstix-sticky-with cream-soda hand and I sat terrified, unmoving, for the rest of the film, in case she let go.

I wish June had been there, hey, just so she could’ve seen me sit bloody still for more than ten minutes…

From → Lots of kak

45 Comments
  1. Your Parents Meds and Personal Safety permalink

    Classic Abromovitz observations. Thank you for the blog after a long long absence. Thanks for remembering all the movies you mentioned of the 70’s. Brought back fond memories. 

    <

    div>David Goldwater. 

    Sent from my iPhone

    <

    div dir=”ltr”>

    <

    blockquote type=”cite”>

  2. Barry permalink

    Now days everything is streaming or Sky. Hell, nearest ‘scope is 55km away from us now. Still can’t forget the slightly flat drinks and overpriced popcorn though…..or the drivin theatres…

  3. Vivienne Leibowich permalink

    Brilliant as always. I’m so happy you’re back writing these gems! 

    <

    div>I was

  4. Lovely Viv! I hope you’re well.

  5. The joy of seeing wheniwasawhenwe come up on my notifications. Lots of happy memories.

  6. My mom died on Sept 6th 2022. So she must be with june.

  7. Cathy permalink

    Redolent with memories as ever. Thank you! So glad you are back

  8. Clive Midlane permalink

    “Watched the Exorcist stoned and it took me months to recover” Hell that chirp really cracked me up!!

    • I used to gooi my Super-Pros under the bed for months afterwards hey

    • Kwali permalink

      Kwali remembers your tale about being at the flicks with a chick that you thought was having an epileptic seizure when you touched it.

  9. Pat Reeves permalink

    My family thought I was having a stroke when I saw your post – jumping for joy hey. Thanks man for the latest offering – fantastic!!

  10. Amanda Trembath permalink

    Ah great memories. Especially Mandy Burgess… I was so grateful when we were in the same class at QE as she was called Mandy so I remained Amanda.
    I remember the excitement too of holding hands in the cinema….. bit different nowadays!
    👍🏻💕

  11. Arthur Barnett permalink

    Bloody marvellous!

  12. Clive Midlane permalink

    Kwali you beauty!! I’ve got tears! 😂😂😂

  13. Mark permalink

    Oh wow .. you’re back with a vengeance!!! Bringing the memories flooding back … I do appreciate your ability to write down all the “Rhodesian experience” in a manner that elicits our life in the teapot land before the onslaught of the rinderpest.
    Thank you … hopefully not too long before the next one or three …

  14. Diane Dean permalink

    I love you my friend. You are so funny. I could walk every step you took. Our history is exactly the same. I’ve just turned 71 and I think you are fractionally older. What age are you? Keep your letters coming. Take care xx

  15. Diane! Thanks man. I am fractionally younger ekshully, but – as this kak I write clearly shows – have wisdom beyond my years.

  16. Robert Zipper permalink

    Yusslike, you Salisbury okes had it tough and messy. Bullies was just clean fun and blue skies.

  17. Jim McDermott permalink

    Hey man, it’s so good to have you back.

  18. Howzit, Abe! Good to hear you’re still around. Your ramblings about Salsa always bring back many happy memories and a smile or three to my frazzled face. Let’s have them more often, PLEASE!

  19. Agree with @BrianRushton. Keep them coming more often! Hope you are still well and enjoying life down in NZ!

  20. Harold Formsn permalink

    Thanks for starting up the stories again. A good lag and a smile from the past.

  21. Greg Hardy permalink

    Welcome back!! We missed you.

  22. Donald McKenzie permalink

    My American wife almost wet herself laughing when I read this to her. Definitely down memory lane!!

  23. tarisira permalink

    Funny you townies we’re definitely more adventurous… smoking dagga !!! My Dad would have whipped my bum until it bled if I ever tried it. However, taking the odd swig from Dad’s beer was totally acceptable and smoking around the corner … fair game. Because tobacco farming was what kept the Rhodesian economy afloat.

    So in covid lock down here in Cape Town my pip was totally blown when cigarettes and alcohol were declared illegal … yet it was quite legal to grow and smoke your own dagga. !!!

    That is when you know times they are a changing !!!!

    And you are definitely a whenwe

Leave a comment